a thought corner

At the end of a year I like to meditate and ask the Universe to give me a sign on an aspect of my life that I should maybe bring more awareness to in the new year. A word or so will present itself and they will be the catch-words for the year. This year, four words came forward. They make the unfortunate acronym FART: Focus. Act. Rejoice. Trust. This wasn’t the order they came in but it helped me remember what they were.

FOCUS – I’ve been so busy in my life; consider myself a Jack-of-all-trades. I direct, act, write, teach, design, produce and administrate and it has brought food to the table but I am not quite satisfied. The multiple hats many artists have to wear seems to be part and parcel to the career we’ve chosen but with all the directions my brain juggles, I rarely have felt I’ve been able to give all my energy to just one field. So this year I’m going to Focus. I love to write and so writing will be my Focus. Focus also has to do with overcoming procrastination and distraction. So this year I am putting my past habits to rest and am attempting to be a Focused individual.

ACT – It’s an easy one that kind of ties in to the last. It is not only about being focused on one thing but to DO that thing, to ACT. So I am going to be an Active Pursuer of that which I’m Focusing on – WRITING.

REJOICE – This was the first word that came to me and not thinking it was a substantial, spiritually enlightening enough pursuit; I went meditating onward. But I did not let it go completely and now I feel it is totally an amazing way to Live Life. So I am going to Rejoice this year. I am going to celebrate my successes and my challenges. I am going to Rejoice in myself and in others. I’m going to have a totally Rejoicefulnating Year!

TRUST – This is the biggie. Trusting my choices. Trusting that I will be taken care of in the choices I make. That making choices will not kill me or bankrupt me or make people hate me. Trust in myself. Trust others. Having Trust removes fear and it reveals how close Trust and fear are connected. When I am afraid of something then I’m not trusting myself or the world. It becomes very clear then when I am not trusting. I have to take a big breath and go for it. I know that with Trust will come comfort, security and joy.

There is also a phrase that I began thinking about when I was on my OZ/SE Asian journey. The phrase is; “Don’t take it personally.” It is something else that I’m adding to my awareness radar. It has helped a lot already to be: less defensive, more understanding to others, realize my own reactions and feelings of “why me?” and “how could so-and-so do this to me?”. I didn’t realize that when someone is driving slowly it’s not because they’re out to make me late for something. Or if someone doesn’t hold the door open for me that they are horrible people. That sometimes really nice and good people have thoughts that are elsewhere and they act accordingly. “Don’t take it personally.” It’s eased my stress levels already and added a great big “WHEW” to my life.

These are my New Year Mantras and I’m looking forward to being conscious of them as me and the Universe roll along happily together.

da hersh

Leave a Reply

